REVIEWS

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 6, 2014NEW
Went today for the first time. The place was clean. We had quick and good service and I was very happy with the food. I had the Haloumi Salad and enjoyed it. My friend ordered the specialty Fruit Salad and also liked hers. Both are very large portions and came with fresh warm pita bread. I would highly recommend. We went before 12 noon and were seated immediately. When we left there was a line. We split a side order of the Greek fries and they were to die for. Go early!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 starsValue
    • 4 of 5 starsAtmosphere
    • 4 of 5 starsService
    • 4 of 5 starsFood

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 4, 2014
I enjoy authentic ethnic food. I really like the Greek food here. Everything my friends and I have tried has been very much to our liking. There is a lemony soup that is out of this world! Savory and delicious! Sitting at a table and watching the foot traffic at the Main Gate of the University of Arizona makes the experience even better. If you like people watching and great cooked while you wait Greek cuisine, this is the place you can't afford to miss!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 starsValue
    • 4 of 5 starsAtmosphere
    • 4 of 5 starsService
    • 5 of 5 starsFood

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 18, 2014
I went here last night with my husband and SIL before a show at Centennial Hall. The place is small and the tables are very close together. I was a bit concerned about the noise level as well. The menu is varied and we finally decided on sharing the Pelio's Platter. It has a bit of everything on it so it was great for sharing among the 3 of us. It was huge and was too much food to finish. Everything tasted great. Hummus and tzatziki was very fresh, the pita was warm and practically melted in my mouth. The chicken, beef and gyro meat was tender and full of flavor. My husband had the baklava for dessert and it was big enough to share a bite or two with us. The place was very crowded and a lot of people were picking up food for take out. The service was fast and friendly, no complaints there. While I understand it is supposed to be like a taverna, it misses that mark. The atmosphere leaves a lot to be desired. That is what I see as the only downside to the place. Is it enough to keep me from going back? No. The food is so good that I would just get over it and enjoy. If you like Greek food, try Pelio's Grill.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 starsValue
    • 3 of 5 starsAtmosphere
    • 4 of 5 starsService
    • 4 of 5 starsFood

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 2, 2014
We headed here for dinner beore a show at the University of Arizona's Centennial Hall. It is just across from the main entrance to the school. It is a small place, but don't let that deter you! The food is great! (And I am not a big fan of Greek cuisine!) I had the chicken skewers on a pita with lettuce, tomato and tziki sauce. DELICIOUS! One person ordered a full dinner plate (salad, soup, main course with sides) and could not finish half of it because the portion was so large. The folks ordering the gyros and hummus plate also enjoyed their food. The wine menu features Greek wines and seemed very reasonable. We will definitely be back! Service was quick.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 starsValue
    • 3 of 5 starsAtmosphere
    • 5 of 5 starsService
    • 5 of 5 starsFood

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 22, 2014
The pitas a great - good size, flavorful and quickly served. The restaurant is on a corner and when it is not too hot and not too cold they open the windows. A good place to dine and people watch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 starsValue
    • 4 of 5 starsAtmosphere
    • 4 of 5 starsService
    • 4 of 5 starsFood

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 11, 2014

Right across from the main gate of U of A, Pelio has a great location. I enjoyed the avgolemono soup with the classic fresh lemon taste. My spanakopita dish was large and tasty, once again a fesh flavor of spinach and cheese. The wines are all Greek but my server was able to tell me which one was most familiar/accessible to Americans. The food was good value for the price.

http://www.wildcat.arizona.edu/article/2013/11/authentic-greek-makes-return-to-main-gate


http://azstarnet.com/entertainment/dining/restaurants/a-patient-man-first-came-the-flood-then-came-the/article_252de392-8889-525f-a83a-d5702eec8c1e.html